Listen Live
My Baltimore Spirit Listen Live
Spirit 1400 Featured Video

The new law, which was passed in Maryland, prohibits any use of a cell phone without a hands-free device while driving.

Drivers are still allowed to use a phone with a bluetooth earpiece or headset while driving. Drivers can also operate a phone while stopped at a traffic light, but must stop use when the car is in motion.

First time offenders will get a $40 fine and $100 for subsequent offenses.

The law categorizes handheld cell phone use as a secondary offense. That means a driver must be pulled over for another reason in order to be ticketed.other law enforcement.

It is already illegal for any driver under age 18 to use a cell phone while driving at all. Texting while operating a vehicle has also been illegal in Maryland since 2009.

Maryland is the eigth state to implement a handheld cell phone band. Currently, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Washington, New Jersey, Oregon, and Washington, D.C. all have similar bans in place.